Annual Access Awards Luncheon Celebrated its 25th Anniversary

In recognition of October as “Disability Awareness Month,” the Los Angeles County Board and the Los Angeles County Commission on Disabilities held their 25th Annual Access Awards Celebration on Monday, October 17, 2016.

Through the generosity of corporate sponsors, the Commission has been able to award scholarships to students and veterans with disabilities. The scholarships have helped extraordinary students extend their education beyond high school, as well as achieve independence and self-sufficiency. 

The Commission looks forward to your ongoing support of the Commission’s work.

25th Annual Access Awards Luncheon

Congratulations to this year’s 25th Annual Access Awardees:


Board of Supervisors Honorees


First District

Sandra Flores, Alma Family Services

Ruben Hernandez, Founder of Unification of Disabled Latin Americans


Second District

Linda Shimane

Wiley Center for Speech and Language Development


Third District

Brenda Seiden, M.S.


Fourth District

Las Floristas

Rancho Los Amigos Foundation


Fifth District

Alethea M. Crespo – Rose Bowl Aquatics Center

Kevin D. Korenthal – KORE Communications, LLC

Cathy Gott – Danny’s Farm


Community At Large Honorees


Chairperson’s Awards

James Lee and Louis Burns


Nadia Power Leadership Award

Alexander A. Ghaffari 


Billy Barty Award

The Wilderness Institute


Pearl Ella Johnson Community Service Award

Tiffany Yonemoto


For more information, please contact Commission Staff at (213) 974-1053 (voice). Please submit all applications to the Los Angeles County Commission on Disabilities, Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Room B-50, Los Angeles, CA 90012.

Board of Supervisors Honorees

District Honorees to be determined.

Community At-Large Honorees

Nomination applications for Community At-Large Honorees to be available April 2017.